My First Race

A comfortable place for anyone and everyone to talk about running

turd ferguson
Ben Johnson

My First Race

Postby turd ferguson » Wed Aug 11, 2010 3:01 pm

Everybody who races has a first race.

Seeing the report from Fish's first race, and seeing that runfbrun has signed up for his first race, I thought I'd start a thread where we could talk about our very first race.

==========================================

My first race was the Calgary Sun Run. It was an 8k race which no longer exists, October 10, 1999. I was 31 years old.

I had been running for about 6 months, almost entirely treadmill because I was too self-conscious to run outside. I remember that I did a bunch of practice runs to make sure I could actually run 8k.

I wore a pair of leather reebok cross trainers (I didn't know that running shoes even existed). It was a cold Sunday morning, the race started and finished at Southcentre Mall and ran through what's now my neighbourhood, though I wouldn't live there for another five years.

I finished in 49:27. My bib number was 1515 (this bib now and will always be the first bib in my scrapbook).

What do I remember? The elation at accomplishing something new. Belonging to something new. Wearing a bib. The amazing feeling of having achieved something that not long before I would have thought impossible.

ultraslacker
Site Admin

Re: My First Race

Postby ultraslacker » Wed Aug 11, 2010 3:09 pm

cool thread idea!

My first race was May 15, 2005. It was the Mizuno Half Marathon in Edmonton, which only ran once because it was the qualifier for the Half Marathon National Championships for that year.