Midsummer Night's Run moves to Toronto Islands

A comfortable place for anyone and everyone to talk about running

ratherawkward
Bruce Kidd

Midsummer Night's Run moves to Toronto Islands

Postby ratherawkward » Tue Jun 04, 2013 8:14 pm

Interesting... apparently due to the construction around the Leslie St/Cherry St areas, the Midsummer Night's Run is moving to the island for "at least the 2013 race year". I've never done this event before, but I have to say, apart from crowding on the ferries, this seems like a potential plus for me. (I'd already signed up for the 30k, back when they had their super-early-bird discount).
PR's so far: 5K 27:15, 10K 55:25, 21.1K 2:10:53, 42.2K 5:21:27
Upcoming: Toronto Women's 5k in May, STWM Half in October

O Z D
Johnny Miles

Re: Midsummer Night's Run moves to Toronto Islands

Postby O Z D » Tue Jun 04, 2013 10:05 pm

There are a few races on the Island every year, so they can obviously handle it, but I am not sure if it is for me.
Part of the draw of Midsummers was proximity to my place. TTC to the Ferry, the Ferry, waiting for the Ferry to get home...not sure I feel like all that hassle after I've run.

I did the 15k Mid last year and loved it in large part due to the course. Not sure I am looking forward to doing a 3 loops of a 5k course.
It was a very fun race last year, but I will hold out until I see the actual route..

Bradsgrl
Percy Williams

Postby Bradsgrl » Wed Jun 05, 2013 6:40 am

I am getting a refund because of the route. For me running 30k is a huge mental hurdle...so doing 3 loops around the island will serious make me go crazy!
The whole ferry situation will suck also...
Coming up:

05/12/13 - Sporting Life 10K
05/26/13 - Toronto Womens 1/2 Marathon
06/22/13 - Colour me Rad 5k
September - Half Marathon??? Still deciding...

La
Kevin Sullivan

Postby La » Wed Jun 05, 2013 6:57 am