1st 1/2M - what would you do?

Everything about the training process, including programs, experiences, etc.

Andes
Johnny Miles

1st 1/2M - what would you do?

Postby Andes » Fri Jun 27, 2008 10:19 pm

Hi everyone, I'm a long-time lurker, first time poster :)

I've been running on and off for about 3 years, but have never raced before. A couple of months ago I re-committed to running and have decided that it would be fun to work toward a specific goal, so I am now aiming for a fall 1/2 marathon.

I don't have any previous races as indicators, but based on my training times and the McMillan calculator, it looks like a 1:55 time should be achievable. My training is going well and my long run is up to 12 miles at this point, so I should have a good base built up by the fall.

I'd like to put in a solid race effort and really test myself, but I'm still new to pacing and judging my perceived effort, so I don't want to risk pushing too hard and not having fun in my first race (which is the top priority). I realize that there is plenty of time for more races (after all, I've waited years for my first one), but I'm excited and want to make the most of the fall season.

My question is, would it be feasible for me to enter two fall 1/2Ms that are 4-5 weeks apart (maybe Scotiabank and Angus Glen)? My fear is that if I treat the first race as a B race and don't race all out, I may still find that I'm not ready for a 2nd 1/2M that soon and could end up disappointed with both races. If you were me, would you put your eggs in two baskets or one?

Any advice would be greatly appreciated! :D

Doonst
Abby Hoffman

Postby Doonst » Fri Jun 27, 2008 10:59 pm