Shoe Advice Needed!

Clothing, accessories, equipment, etc.
Little Nikke
Percy Williams

Shoe Advice Needed!

Postby Little Nikke » Thu Nov 17, 2005 2:22 pm

Hi all - I'm a lurker who started running about 3 months ago and my shoes are probably going to wear out any day now (they're about 5 years old, but I barely touched them before 3 months ago). I registered just to ask this question, but will probably be back!

The problem is I have very small feet (size 5 to 5.5) and finding shoes that fit is a nightmare. Am I stuck with kids runners? or do you know of brands that run small - and where I could find them. (I'll be in Winnipeg in December - so far I've been SOL here in Boulder - particularly funny since it seems this is the running capital of the world!)

Advise! Please!
-------
It's a silly time to learn to swim when you start to drown.

ultraslacker
Site Admin

Postby ultraslacker » Thu Nov 17, 2005 2:30 pm

hi Nikke!

I am not a shoe expert so I will let someone else answer your question.

But I wanted to welcome you to the site! Posting is way more fun than lurking, isn't it? :)

holly
"You're an ultrarunner, normal rules don't apply to you." (Doonst)

First say to yourself what you would be; and then do what you have to do. ~Epictetus

dgrant
Lynn Williams

Re: Shoe Advice Needed!

Postby dgrant » Thu Nov 17, 2005 2:32 pm

Little Nikke wrote:Boulder - particularly funny since it seems this is the running capital of the world!

I've heard that about Boulder too. Sounds like a nice spot. Glad you checked in.

You probably already know this, but Nikes are reknowned for being narrow.

Shoes are so important - and you don't want them too big, or you'll have blister problems. New Balance always markets themselves as having the most size / width options, and their adult sizes start at size 5.

Could one of the local running specialty shops special order small sizes for you? Definitely don't settle for poorly-fitting footwear.

jes
Jerome Drayton