Gut and Psychology Syndrome?

Because you can't outrun a bad diet!
ultraslacker
Site Admin

Gut and Psychology Syndrome?

Postby ultraslacker » Thu Feb 02, 2012 3:14 pm

Has anyone heard of this?

I hadn't heard of it until today, but I have an opportunity to attend a workshop with a dietician who specializes in it.

I'm a skeptic of anyone who says they can cure Autism (and a host of other things from Epilepsy to Dyslexia) through diet alone. But I'm curious. :)

This is the website: http://www.gutandpsychologysyndrome.com/

But if any of the medical types have more information, I'd love to hear it!
"You're an ultrarunner, normal rules don't apply to you." (Doonst)

First say to yourself what you would be; and then do what you have to do. ~Epictetus

Miss*Smiles
Lynn Williams

Re: Gut and Psychology Syndrome?

Postby Miss*Smiles » Thu Feb 02, 2012 3:17 pm

When I was a junior ABA therapist, the family I was working for was VERY into this type of treatment. I don't know how well it "worked" (is working) - during the short time I was there (maybe 7 months), Benjamin went from being almost non-verbal to beginning to speak in sentences (at 4 years old). The family did A LOT of work with manding and he had a fairly specific diet. They were doing anything. anything. everything. they could to help him.

I have heard this before, working with children with autism, that diet can help...
When your legs get tired, run with your heart.

Overcome the notion that you must be regular. It robs you of your chance to be extraordinary.

ultraslacker
Site Admin

Postby ultraslacker » Thu Feb 02, 2012 3:28 pm

Oh I didn't know you did ABA Therapy! I'd like to hear more about your experiences with that (maybe separately).

When I worked for Supported Child Development they used ABA but were very against the idea of diet being able to cure autism (think Jenny McCarthy). But I get that parents will try anything and everything to help.