IT band issues..I think.

A comfortable place for anyone and everyone to talk about running

cookstarcarolyn

IT band issues..I think.

Postby cookstarcarolyn » Sun Jul 20, 2014 8:42 pm

Hi. I am a newbie at running. I started running a month ago. Started in Nike 5"0's. I have always been a flat shoe kinda gal. I wear vibram shoes 90% of the time..for casual, hiking, walking. The first week of running ( 3 times per week) went well, no issues. Second week in I started getting really sore after my runs on the upper right side of my leg. After a ton of researching,my best guess is it's my IT band. I went and bought a foam roller ( use it daily) and really stretch it out before/after a run. Runs seem to have been going better, pain is not nearly as bad. Then the last 5 runs have been terrible. About 2km into my runs, I am getting a pain on the outside of my knee on my right leg only ( my dominant leg)...thought maybe it was the shoes, so I switched to the saucony powergrid ride 7's. go for a run and low and behold, 2K in and the pain near my knee starts..so not the shoes ( thank goodness, cause I love my Nike frees. I have started doing this :http://youtu.be/ydcy3dPf__M. Anything else I should/could be doing? I can't give up..I love to run..entered my first 5 K at the end of August..would love to be able to finish the race!!! I run strictly on my local highway if that helps. Any help/advice would be greatly appreciated.

FishPants
Lynn Williams

Re: IT band issues..I think.

Postby FishPants » Sun Jul 20, 2014 9:07 pm

-try mixing up where you run, the cantilever on the highway may be aggravating your issue
-do the stretch where you lay on your back and make your legs into the 4 and pull your thigh towards you