Smoothies

Because you can't outrun a bad diet!
DLS
Bruce Kidd

Smoothies

Postby DLS » Mon Dec 03, 2012 8:56 pm

My stomach has always given me problems, and the latest advice is to avoid most cooked foods, wheat, dairy, etc.... Leaving me drinking my strawberry/banana/mango/spinach/almond smoothie. A lot.

So, I've been coveting a Vitamix for several years, figuring I could make great smoothies. I came close to buying one, but given my inherent (read: Scottish) conservatism when it comes to spending money, I decided that an interim step was necessary. Enter.... The Nutri-Bullet! It's like a Magic Bullet on steroids. Apparently, it has a really powerful motor, allowing it to pulverize nuts, seeds, etc. Great! I've been using it for a month now, and I have two pieces of advice:

a) Don't try to take it in your carry-on luggage through airport security. Apparently, one could possibly wield the little rotary blades as a weapon. Yes, I'm serious: I traveled with it so I could guarantee my breakfast. And yes, I was stupid enough to try taking it through security...

b) (Wo)man cannot live on one smoothie recipe alone!

So, please, help me out! I'm trying to make smoothies without reverting to protein powders because I haven't found one that doesn't taste hinkey and I don't want to have to figure out if something in a protein powder is bother my stomach. If you have ANY recipes that you use --- especially if you've found a way of having more protein in them -- I'm all ears!

My current one is:

1/2 c frozen mango
6 frozen strawberries
2c baby spinach
1/2 c raw almonds
1 banana
1 c water
Deanna

Running in memory of Porter.
"Make voyages. Attempt them. There's nothing else."

Chilly Half Mar 4th - 2:03:33
Around The Bay Mar 25 - 3:10:19 - PB (de facto, but still!)
NF Womens Half June 4 - 1:59:00 - PB!
Portland Half Oct 7 - 1:59:15
Gorilla Run - 17k - DONE
ING NYC Marathon Nov 4 -- DNS, care of Hurricane Sandy
Philly Marathon Nov 18 -- 5:03:40 -- but completed!